You may think that being charged with a misdemeanor in Kansas is not a “big deal.” After all, you haven’t been accused of committing a felony. But even the least serious misdemeanor can result in up to a month in county jail and a hefty fine. Moreover, as with felonies, misdemeanor convictions remain on your record which could affect your personal relationships, employment, advancement, and other opportunities throughout your life. There really are no “minor” misdemeanors.
Don’t gamble on your future, even with a misdemeanor. My law firm, Weiser Law Group Inc, has been providing experienced legal representation to clients charged with misdemeanors in Wichita, Sedgwick County, and surrounding Kansas counties for more than 20 years. My experience as a former police officer and a practicing criminal defense attorney gives me a unique insight into the charges and prosecution of misdemeanor offenses.
Crimes Classified as Misdemeanors in Kansas
In Kansas, crimes are classified into four categories: felonies; misdemeanors; traffic infractions; and, cigarette or tobacco infractions. Felonies receive the most rigorous sentencing. Misdemeanor convictions are subject to fines, jail time, or both.
You can be charged with a misdemeanor for a broad range of crimes. For example, misdemeanor charges can result from arrests for possession of marijuana for personal use, driving under the influence, theft of property or services valued at $1,000 or less, assault by threatening another person, battery by striking another person, property damage, or patronizing a prostitute.